the art of mindbending

the life of zooey who happens to be Bipolar 2

the ‘s’ word

smile

Is that not the cutest….dang.

But you know…it’s ferking hard to smile sometimes. Bad moods, frustrations, physical pain, stress, anxiety and depression are examples where even keeping your face pleasant is sometimes not even doable.  Smiles can be genuine. Smiles can be faked, to a certain degree. But the phrase, “Put on a ‘happy’ face,” along with that old and moldy song should be banned. No really, I mean it.

I am not going to tell you that smiling cures shit. It doesn’t. It never does. Smiling to ‘change your out look and pull-you-up-by-your-bootstraps’ is a load of shit. Plain and simple.

Smile if you can. Smile for another. And, with some luck, you can smile to yourself.

Working on showing my pearly whites today,

zooey

 

 

 

 

2 comments on “the ‘s’ word

  1. Rory
    March 4, 2016

    Hugs. There are days during which I only smile because I know I deserve to smile, even if I don’t feel like smiling. I deserve to be seen as myself, even if I don’t feel like myself. It doesn’t fix anything, but it is a small tool in a large toolbox of ways I can feel more “normal” when I feel like a freak. But, different strokes. For other folks, that forced smile feels like a lie, or a punishment.

    If you need something to smile at, or roll your eyes at, at the very least, I have a moment in our lives that makes me laugh, and I’ve been thinking about it a lot lately, for whatever reason. Remember the time we were having a super serious conversation on a vacation and I farted on your head? I hear your disbelieving “DUDE!” in my head, and I laugh. Not at you, but at my under-medicated self. Fond memories.

    More hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. zooey
    March 4, 2016

    No more head farting! #driveby instead. Yeah, I’ve seen Deadpool THREE TIMES

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 3, 2016 by in Bipolar 2, depression, Mood and tagged , , , .
