the art of mindbending

the life of zooey who happens to be Bipolar 2

disturbed silence

disturbed-sound-of-silence-vid-2015-billboard-650Below is a powerful remake of the Simon and Garfunkel’s, Sound of Silence, by a band called Disturbed.  The original song has been one of my favorites for as long as I can remember. My parents had the original Simon and Garfunkel vinyl album. I remember playing this song on their console record player as I looked at the cover laying on the living room carpet.

This new version is amazing.

The song talks of brokenness which can be found in silence.  It describes how silence “like a cancer grows”. Silence, yes, can be a good thing. But silence in this case, is not. It talks of not listening to what we hear. Talking without speaking as examples.

Sound Of Silence Simeon Garfunkel 1964 main Rock Train rocktrain.netDepression is different for those who experience it. It used to be that I had a the black dog whispering in my ear about my constant failings.  I often call it IT as well. If you’ve read any of my earlier blogs, you’ll notice poetry with an IT as well as posts.  With the help of therapy, I’ve been able to redirect that thinking….mostly.  So depression for me now goes into a silent space. An emotional void.  A place where silence is a blessing as well as a curse.

And now, without any more jabbering from me….the remake.

 

And I leave you with, “the words of the prophets are written on the subway walls….”

zooey

Leave a Reply

