the art of mindbending

the life of zooey who happens to be Bipolar 2

bird in the house

We decorated the house for Christmas a little early this year. My parents and Stan’s father were there for Thanksgiving. My mom declared last year she was done hosting Christmas, divided her Christmas decorations between the grandchildren and retired her tree. They wouldn’t have a tree this year.  Stan’s father did not put up a tree in his tiny place. So, we thought we’d get the tree up and decorated as part of the holiday festivities for them to enjoy.

All went well, until the tree topper. For a several years now, there’s been a springy star at the top of the tree. Putting it on was terrible. It never sat straight and weaved back and forth like a playground pony. It was remnant of the old life before the divorce and Stan. (cripes, how fitting) We needed a new a topper.

To be honest, we are not patient people. I am not a ‘shop around’ sort of gal. I am an Amazon Prime addict. Surf it, buy it, it comes to my door in two days. Works for me. Keeps me from shuffling out on the weekend with loads of sheeple hunting and gathering their wares. If it isn’t clothes or food, it is most likely from Amazon. (ahem, no affiliation)


37add1e5-dcea-4c94-9714-fc22645f92fbWe had one rule before diving into the Christmas shopping crowd…it couldn’t be a spring attachable. The pickings were slim. Then Stan came upon a bird which attaches to the tree like a huge hair clip. It fucking looked like the Twitter bird…absolute score. Hands-down winner, and done in the first store! 

alltwitter-twitter-bird-logo-white-on-blueTwitter means a lot to Stan and I. We met on Twitter. Two healers who played World of Warcraft, both Druids trading tips and stories. I added him after seeing a string with another healer I followed. We talked on Twitter. He decided to change servers and play with our guild. He became an awesome friend. He is 1 of 4 people who got me in for help when the need was dire. Stan, Rory, Bradley and Ann honestly saved my life. I was at great risk for suicide. They were there for me and gently steered me into the labyrinth that is diagnosis and treatment for what ended up being bipolar 2. It’s been several years now. I still think of that time and how my support network helped me see another day. Another year. To imagine life again.

Twitter on our tree. It fits. I remember. I am grateful.

Spring in my step,

zooey

 

birdhouse_in_your_soul_typography_project_by_timlai-d5vwlxl

2 comments on “bird in the house

  1. Rory
    December 3, 2015

    Your gratitude is heartwarming. We’ve been there for each other, and that means the world to me, too. I love the new topper. I saw the picture before I read the article, and I thought, “Did they make a Twitter bird as a tree topper? They’re amazing. How fitting.” Then I read it. My opinion is solidly the same. Hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. zooey
    December 3, 2015

    You rock, Rory.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

