the art of mindbending

the life of zooey who happens to be Bipolar 2

a horse is a horse of course

mr-edIf you are old school cool to remember the opening song to the very old TV show, “Mister Ed,” you are getting 50 cool points from me today. But this blog is about a horse of a different color. Blue to be exact.

You see, I am from the Kansas City area. And if you watch TV, news or read current events on the internet,  you know the Royals won the 2015 World Series. They did this coming back in the 9th inning from a two run deficit and scoring 5 runs in the 12th inning to seal the deal. Yeah, I was pretty happy about that. So happy that my cheers of joy scared our dog Rolf into the bathroom. A talent handed down from my mother who used to yell so much at college basketball on TV that her dog hid behind the toilet.

1503336200871179814A crazy 800K people showed up downtown for the parade on Tuesday. The masses of fans in blue covered whole park spaces, parked on interstate on and off ramps and bused 2-3 hours to get downtown. 30 years between championship trophies was a long, long time for this town.

And who was among the throngs of people?  None other than Stan my man, my dear hubby. In a rubber horse head…with a hat jauntily perched on top. Stan is the playful sort who knows just when to be a silly horse in public. People gravitated towards the 6′ 6″ man, a horse head above the rest. During his sardine crush on the parade route, he said, “I was photographed and in more selfies today than all the pictures taken of me my whole life.” Silly horses are photogenic horses. 

It’s good to be silly sometimes. Kids are silly who giggle and laugh at their own bad jokes. But as we grow up, the silly is squeezed out of us by grown up stuff. By more ‘adult’ humor, satire and sarcasm. This is a sad thing.

We all need to step outside of normal and into the world of the absurd. Performance artists like Matthew 11707321_10156219525895331_5794450268161872440_nSilver do it all the time. The first video I saw of him I thought, those are some good drugs or he needs some help with his mental state. Turns out, nope on both accounts. He is there to test normal and stretch public performance. The the grains of truth between his mouth noises and chicken squawking were meaningful and came from his heart. See the original I saw below, then check out his Facebook page.

Stan my man, you are my very own Matthew Silver. Loves. Keep wearing that horse head wherever you want.

Challenge your normal. Throw caution out the window and jump out after it.

Get back on the horse,

zooey

grownups

4 comments on “a horse is a horse of course

  1. Rory
    November 5, 2015

    I swear, silliness is the heart of true love. Jenny and I work hard to embrace the silly, because you can never be too old for unbridled joy. Hugs. Glad you guys found joy in your team winning! I miss sports. I haven’t followed sports in a long time now.

    Like

  2. zooey
    November 5, 2015

    Sports are an AM radio or TV channel away….

    Like

    • Rory
      November 5, 2015

      I don’t have cable, and I prefer to watch soccer, which isn’t often available on local AM. I did download some apps, though. I’ve just been out of the habit for almost a decade, and I don’t know any of the players anymore. I’ll get back into it, I’m sure.

      Like

  3. zooey
    November 5, 2015

    We watched the world series on fox which is a local channel we get on our digital antenna. Yeah, soccer is hard to find unless on cable.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 5, 2015 by in Art, fun, performance, silly and tagged , , , , , , .
