the art of mindbending

the life of zooey who happens to be Bipolar 2

that’s just the way it is

freGood friends are hard to find and keep. Sometimes we move on with different interests or dramatic changes in life such as kids. Other times, even with the internet and other ways to keep in touch, it’s out of sight, out of mind as people move to other parts of the country.

Kyle and Jen have been my friends for about 10 years. They knew me with the ex. They stayed with me though the divorce. Now, my dear hubby and I hang with them on a regular basis. We plan board games, have dinners, watch baseball games and the like 2 or 3 times a month. When we go to their house, or they come to ours, the Wi-Fi connects automatically. Yep, awesome friends.

Stan and I were out with Kyle and Jen yesterday. As we drove to lunch, Jen said, “Stan is the best thing that’s ever happened to you.” I smiled. I, of course, agreed. She knew me before. She know who I was then and who I am now. I’ve changed. My parents have said to Stan, “We have our old Zooey back.” It’s true, I have the freedom to be who I am and not to conform to something I am not.

Then she asked, “Are you still on medicine?” This was in reference to what she knew of my struggles with depression and subsequent diagnosis of bipolar 2. From what she observed, I looked to be cured/ok now. Sometimes illnesses can be cured through medication, therapy (physical or other). I think that’s what Jen was hoping for in me. My life has changed dramatically since the end of my 20+ year marriage. My medication has managed moods fairly well. I am in a good state at the moment. She wanted my struggles to be over.

index.2I explained that I would be on medicine for the rest of my life, just like other illnesses like diabetes, hypothyroidism, Crohn’s disease or asthma. She understood. Her hope was that I could move on. That the worst was over. I agree, the worst part is over. Ex is gone. BP2 managed. Stan in my life now. I wish I could just one and done it, too.

Yet, I would not change what it took to get me to this point. Tracy where you are today. It is a series of steps, decisions and events which bring you to this point. Without all the shit I had to go through, I wouldn’t be where am with dear hubby and Lucy.

Stan’s my man,

zooey

2 comments on “that’s just the way it is

  1. Rory
    November 4, 2015

    I have to agree with your parents and Jen. Your husband is good for you. Even with our distance-based friendship, I’ve watched you life change for the better. He’s a blessing to you. On the flip side, he’s a better man because of you. You were made for each other, and I cannot be thrilled more for you two amazing people. Give each other hugs from me today.

    Like

  2. zooey
    November 4, 2015

    Yay! I love hugs! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 4, 2015 by in Bipolar 2, friends, hope, medicine and tagged , , , , .
