the art of mindbending

the life of zooey who happens to be Bipolar 2

dog collars and hot tea

star-dog-collar-black__42612_zoomWhen I was in junior high, before they called it ‘middle school,’ Wendy and Rachel, 2 girls in my 8th grade class, showed up with dog collars on. Due to the era and age, I don’t think this was some sort of Shades of Gray. They were trying to start a trend, or perhaps say ‘hey we are biker chicks.’ Other than comments about being dogs or being led around to ‘follow the owner,’ it was a dazzling failure.

This is what came to mind last night. I’ve been struggling with asthma for the past week. As I religiously use my steroid and emergency inhalers, my body goes into marathon mode to work on the breathing part. This means more muscles not usually used in the chest, neck and back begin a daily workout for air.

20151023_114801_HDREnter another factor, work is balls to the walls right now. We are asked to put in intense, long hours of highly visible work. This is also known as tension and stress. In addition, I’ve not been working from home this week. The office is rather dusty. This doesn’t help me either. I debated if I need to go back to the Dr. today or Monday for a recheck, breathing treatment and the like. I am waiting for Monday to see if two days away from the dusty office helps

Last night, looking for additional ways help myself online. Many sites noted that black tea, which has Theophylline, helps open the bronchial airways, even though there is only a minute amount per 5 ounce cup.

20151023_114951_HDR (002)Ginger tea helps as well. “Another recent study, which was presented at the American Thoracic Society International Conference, found that adding ginger compounds to isoproterenol, a type of asthma medication called a beta-agonist, enhanced its bronchodilating effects.” Health Impact News I sipped on the ginger tea last night as it is decaf, then brewed a huge strong pot of English breakfast black tea this morning.

It actually helped a little. Yay for herbal remedies which have actually been around for ages. Good to keep an open mind on more than ferking pharmaceutical aristocracy. Good old fashioned home remedies. It helps with breathing and sleeping and, in turn, keeps my bipolar 2 bay.

Every little bit helps me to NOT think about those 8th grade dog collars.

Drink up!

Zooey

P.S. Only major side effects is the bladder workout.

One comment on “dog collars and hot tea

  1. Rory
    October 24, 2015

    I’m a huge fan of natural remedies. I’m glad you’ve found something that is helping.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 23, 2015 by in Bipolar 2, Health, Sleep and tagged , , , , .
