the art of mindbending

the life of zooey who happens to be Bipolar 2

I am an anteater

Yep. You heard me right. Here I am, trying to eat healthy. I righteously used honey as my brown sugar replacement for the oatmeal I eat most mornings. I blame the Outlander series for this incident. I’ve been reading the Outlander series since 00498622the STARZ TV version came out last year.

This is no small task. Diana Gabaldon’s books are meaty affairs. I am listening to them as I commute or do tasks around the house and I’ve been working on the series for almost a year now. Each Audible book runs anywhere from 39-45 hours a piece.

The stories are full of wonderful descriptions of life in the 1700’s starting around the battle of Coladin and currently smack in the middle of 1776. It describes everything from the Scottish uprising and battle at Culloden to creating a new settlement in the Carolina Mountains to food and herbs used as medicines. The descriptions of porridge and honey are to blame. Hot porridge in the morning with honey sounded very tasty. We had a small container of honey, so I brought it in today.

Sitting on a conference call, pouring my second drizzle into the oatmeal from the honey bear and what do I see?…little ants, antssuspended in their sweet death. I looked down into my oatmeal bowl, which I’d already sampled for taste and sure enough, ants among the oats. I’m not squeamish. People in other cultures eat ants. But I’m going to pass powering through the rest of my bowl.

I’ll have to make another batch. Perhaps I shall call this my hobbit second breakfast. My allergy headache is mottling my thinking and I have no time today to be lethargic or take a nap. Depression from pain can wiggle its way more firmly into the day if left untreated. It is crunch time at the office on a specific project. All thoughts of calling in sick or working from home are not an option.

Off to make more ‘porridge’ so pills can be taken and I can make it through today. Thank the heavens they weren’t fire ants. The heartburn would be atrocious.

At least I don’t have a tongue THAT long.

zooey

P.S. Googling anteaters brought up a whole set of photos of these creatures in sweaters. Leaving this right here for your amusement.

5 comments on “I am an anteater

  1. Rory
    September 1, 2015

    Who’d have thought they’d be so cute in sweaters?! Jenny won’t let me have one, though. QQ

    Like

  2. zooey
    September 1, 2015

    She won’t let you have a sweater? 😀

    Like

  3. Xandrion
    September 1, 2015

    Crunch time…I see what you did there :p

    Like

  4. zooey
    September 1, 2015

    Hehe. At least the were softened by the honey and not as big as carpenter ants

    Like

  5. Rory
    September 1, 2015

    LOL. I really, really hope that never happens to me. Eating ants that aren’t covered in chocolate and candied honey? Blech.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 1, 2015 by in Bipolar 2, depression, Mood, Quality of Life and tagged , , , , , , .
