the art of mindbending

the life of zooey who happens to be Bipolar 2

rollercoaster

I wrote this awhile back during a manic depression episode. I do most of my poetry writing in that state, the need to write greater in order to communicate what is going on in my head. ~zooey

rollercoaster

buckled in
up down up down,
cotton candy gut roiling in my throat
no hands in the air
eyes squeezed tight to wrenching drops
screaming, plunging, plunging towards the stagnant blue cement pond
relief on straight and climbing travel

twists lifting me from the duct-taped seat, white-knuckled grip
round loops, upside glance at cigarette butts, discarded cups
familiar trash
the ride slows, then stops with a hiss and jerk
i climb out on wobbly legs,
forced to board again

rusted carnival ride
eternal attraction
doomed to rinse and repeat

rollercoaster

2 comments on “rollercoaster

  1. Rory
    August 28, 2013

    I’ve just caught up, after being pre-occupied for a couple of days. Damn. You are amazing, and I love you. I hope you know I will happily talk to you any time. Even at 3am. Be safe, and be sane. No pressure. I love you, friend.

    Like

    • Ttrinity
      September 6, 2013

      Thanks Rory. I know you are just a phone call away. Ditto here.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 27, 2013 by in Bipolar 2, depression, Mood, Poetry, Quality of Life and tagged , , .
