the art of mindbending

the life of zooey who happens to be Bipolar 2

what IT is

The first poem I remember writing, and still have in my possession, was written when I was 8 years old. It was about pink.  Poetry is where I turn in my life when the need to express, ironically, almost goes beyond words. It is one of the most comfortable mediums at my fingertips. Below is a poem about my critical inner eye. — zooey

what IT is

“you know I am right
I will win,” IT speaks softly,
a whispered secret in my ear

“I am the black crows, waiting for a car to pass
swooping down to your flattened carcass of a life
relishing pulled pieces of your body

“I am the tornado
flinging your body
broken, arms and legs jutting
tossing the remains into a corn field

“I am the skittering black widow
patiently navigating your shoe strings
just a little love bite, dear, it won’t last long.

“I am piranhas biting your flesh
schooling you in your failures
as you dissolve, skeleton resting on the soft Amazon river bottom.

“I am darkness in an underground cave
wedging your body tighter into a crevice
no water, no light, not hope of rescue

“I am your truth and destruction
your failure cheerleader
I will win, loser,” as IT
slithers away

Snake Art by Macrojunkie

One comment on “what IT is

  1. Pingback: meet a mindbender | The art of mindbending

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 20, 2013 by in depression, Poetry, Self Esteem and tagged , , , , .
